Econ201 2007 (1 Viewer)

HSC
Hey,

I am planning to do ECON201 as a summer course program and I was wondering if anyone who did the unit and wouldn't mind giving me some advise on the unit?

Also I am hoping to buy the econ201 book before the course starts, so I was wondering if anyone can tell me what set textbook is for econ201? And if anyone who did ECON201 this year(2007) is selling their textbooks and lecture notes etc?

Thankz!

Luke!

Sexual Revolutionist
HSC
Right now I am studying for the final exam in this unit.

It's a good unit; very interesting. My advice is just to study the goods and financial markets that you learned about in ECON110. Understand the algebra, graphs and concepts associated with both, and you'll be well equipped to take on the first section of ECON201 where you'll learn about extended forms of those markets;— the IS-LM model and the AS-AD model.

You'll also learn more about the labour market and how it relates to the other markets, and you'll learn to evaluate monetary and fiscal policy implemented by the central bank and the government.

The textbook is called 'Macroeconomics' (Second Edition) by Olivier Blanchard & Jeffrey Sheen.

If you liked ECON110, then I think you'll really enjoy ECON201.

Luke.

HSC
As Luke^ said, a lot of the work extends from the u learnt in econ 110. So it wont hurt to do a little reading before hand.

What I remember from econ 201 was that there was quite a bit of reading and the tutorial questions were long. However with the finals, it was possible to pass with just studying 6 weeks worth of work? You dont have to focus on everything and there will be greater emphasis on some weeks.

My friend did summer course for the subject and she said they went easier on them.

and thats my fractured knowledge of the subject : 3
Do have fun.

dracover

HSC
well its much harder then 200 if u can i'd suggest 200 ova 201.