Confused about my program of study... (1 Viewer)

d.i.m.e Babii

HSC
I am a new undergraduate student for 2007 enrolled in the Bachelor of Arts- Psychology/ Bachelor of Laws course. I am a extremely confused about my program of study for the first year.

The handbook outlines the subject requirements (for the full year) being:
LAW104
LAW114
PSY104
PSY105 and
either STAT170 OR STAT171

Each of these subjects worth 3 credit points. However I have been informed that I also need to choose 2 100-level elective units to make up 21 credit points.

I have actually purchased a copy of the handbook, but cannot find a list of the electives to choose from.

What is the minimum amount of credit points each year which I have to complete in order to fullfill the requirements of a double degree?

THANKYOU to anyone who could clarify this for me...

iambored

dum-di-dum
HSC
http://www.handbook.mq.edu.au/degree.php?edition=2007&id=21123
1. Minimum number of credit points: 116
it takes 5 years to do a double degree, therefore 10 semesters
116 / 10 = 11.6
so you'll be doing 12cp every semester

d.i.m.e Babii said:
Each of these subjects worth 3 credit points. However I have been informed that I also need to choose 2 100-level elective units to make up 21 credit points.
why 21cp? to fulfill the degree requirements, you're going to have to do 12cp every semester, therefore 24cp in the year, not 21.

therefore, you'll need to pick 3 electives

there is no list of electives you can pick from as such- you can pick anything you like, provided you've done the prerequisites.

assmuing you have listed all your 100 level cores and so all three subjects you need to choose are electives, some things to consider:
1. check max number of cp at 100 level (it's 30, so you'll have no problems with doing 24, so all 3 electives can be 100 level if you like)
2. have a look at 300 level subjects. if there are any you think you'll really want to do you might want to do the prerequisite for them now.