Conflict In Indochina & Pacific (1 Viewer)

~V~

Gold Member?
HSC
N/A
Just out of interest...

How many schools studying Conflict in Indochina or Conflict in the Pacific are using the 'Contested Spaces' textbooks By Thomas Cantwell?

Do you like them??

Sarah168

London Calling
HSC
I'm studying indochina but we're not up to that yet...what are the most popular books for indochina, do u know?

Ziff

HSC
N/A
We're doing Conflict in the Pacific and the textbook is Dr. Cantwell's but we haven't had it issued to us yet. Geez, it must be a big advantage to have the bloke who wrote the book as your teacher! Not to mention a big advantage for him that he's your teacher so he gets the royalties from the school buying the textbook!

I only get to experience such joys and thrills when I go down to ANU next year :p

braindrainedAsh

Journalist
HSC
My teacher was Ian Sutherland who wrote the Conflict in Indochina textbook... so obviously we used it lol. We also used Contested Spaces though.

Sarah168

London Calling
HSC
yay! just got my textbook today in advance (considering my class is barely halfway through Germany and i freaked out yesterday so i marched up and demanded the book today :rolleyes: ) and its the contested spaces one...:D

Ziff

HSC
N/A
Wow the Conflict in the Pacific book is so shiny and new. If only I was stoned! Then I could really enjoy this!

Around page 120 (edit: pg129) - "How to tell a Jap from a Chinese" propaganda poster. I laughed so hard, it's so racist.

Last edited:

Sarah168

London Calling
HSC
Does anybody else notice that the beginning of the Indochina elective overlaps alot with the prelims indochina topic? We did Indochina for prelims and half of this stuff sounds familiar...hmm the yr 12 topic probably goes into more detail but Im glad we did indochina in prelims nevertheless :D

Tenille

the one & only
HSC
Originally posted by Ziff
Wow the Conflict in the Pacific book is so shiny and new. If only I was stoned! Then I could really enjoy this!