Chem/Bio question (1 Viewer)

genril

Banned
HSC
Posting it here rather than the bio or chem forum because it is kind of general.

"Carbon Dioxide (CO2) can be made by adding Hydrochloric Acid (HC1) to Marble Chips (CaCO3). This is the method you will use to generate the gas. How you collect the gas, dissolve it and test for changes in pH is to be determined by the group or individual"

Now, How do I collect the gas? I have never done anything like this before, and if it was upto me I would be getting a straw and blowing the carbon dioxide into the beakers (I will be asking if I can do this, it works :( ).

Thanks.

Oh and by the way, this is for the bio experiment where we have to demonstrate the effect of dissolved carbon dioxide on the pH of water.

Last edited:

Kujah

HSC
N/A
Well, the first thing is that the HCl and CaCO3 would be added into a test tube. A cork with a hole would be placed on top of the test tube to ensure that any gaseous reactants could only escape through the hole in the cork.

So to ensure that we actually collect the gas, we'd add one of those tubes (the ones that look similar to the tubes we attach the Bunsen burner to the gas) into the hole, and on the other side of the tube, (this is guessing now), you'd probabaly just add another test tube with a cork in it. :confused:

If you're confused by what I've said, have a look at this image:

Someone help clarify me if I'm wrong :/

genril

Banned
HSC
Alright, I kind of understand what you're saying.

So I would place the marble chips and hcl in a test tube with a cork inserted, there will be a hole in the cork through which a tube will be placed.

could you please link the picture instead of putting it in image tags?

and, what do i do with the gas once it is in the other corked test tube... I need to get it into water some how, if I take off the cork to add water it will escape, right?

sle3pe3bumz

glorious beacon of light
HSC