career paths? (1 Viewer)

thejosiekiller

every me
HSC
what career path do you plan to take with your science degree?

just interested in whether you plan on doing just undergraduate studies or going further with something really terrifying :p

sikeveo

back after sem2
HSC
science degree is pretty much useless without, phd/mphil. Good basis for grad courses i guess. Im not planning on getting a job with my sci degree, as i probably wont get one in the area i want to major in --> meteorology and phys oceanography...

thejosiekiller

every me
HSC
sikeveo said:
science degree is pretty much useless without, phd/mphil. Good basis for grad courses i guess. Im not planning on getting a job with my sci degree, as i probably wont get one in the area i want to major in --> meteorology and phys oceanography...
thats what i hate about science

having an undergraduate degree in most cases is just not enough

HSC
I'm studying Chemistry as a major. I will definately do honours then I will think about phD. But I think I need to do phD to get a decent job. Thinking of being a researcher or a lecturer if I'm lucky enough. I will probably study Organic Chemistry during my honours/phD year. I'm not touching physical chemistry. I hate it.

sikeveo

back after sem2
HSC
Iruka said:
I hope you're planning on migrating elsewhere if you wish to be either a scientist or an academic. Australia is the only industrialized nation that has decreased its spending on tertiary education over the past ten years (and quite substantially, at that). Decent jobs at Unis/CSIRO are as scarce as hen's teeth.
yeh, i read an article about that in the SMH. Damn government.

Nebuchanezzar

Banned
HSC
You could always become a Science teacher, although you can't do anatomy in that though, which certainly annoyed the hell out of me.

acmilan

I'll stab ya
HSC
N/A