Anyone do Int. Studies at UTS? (1 Viewer)

Verify

HSC
Just wondering how you find the degree and the subjects that you do. :)

spoodles

HSC
N/A
Hey. Not sure if you already had your question answered but I'm gonna reply anyway.

I'm currently in my final year of a combined international studies degree - I don't want to reveal too much about where I went and stuff but you can pm me if you want to know more about this.

Anyway, in 2nd and 3rd year you'll be doing a mix of international studies subjects and professional degree subjects. You're required to do 2 international studies subjects (Foundations of International Studies & another that's specific to the country you go to) + 4 language classes. While I don't believe that you can get far with a foreign language by studying it at university in Australia, they give you a good grasp of the basics before you leave.

What you have to study on your year abroad depends on the country you go to and what your language level is. No matter which country you go to, everyone has to complete 3 research assignments each semester related to some sort of cultural aspect of the country. They're written in english and marked by UTS staff, but usually will require research conducted in the foreign language (eg. interviews, surveys). Tbh, I thought these assignments were pretty useless as they're so time consuming and yet I wasn't getting anything out of them, but I know lots of other people did find them worthwhile. Depends on whether that kind of research is your thing or not.