Any tips on how to choose IT units for a BA? (1 Viewer)

jaimebien

HSC
I'm in my first year for BA (Media and Communications). For a time, I considered doing and IT degree because I love working with and around the Internet. Then, when I realised that the arts are my first love, I sort of abandoned that line of thought...until a friend suggested I could do an IT unit even in my arts degree. After smacking my head a few times, I realised I could--from Semester 2 onwards.

So...my question is, how do I go about choosing the best units for study? I'm reading the handbook (4. Undergraduate units of study - Engineering handbook - The University of Sydney) but most of it doesn't really make sense to me.

Basically, I'm very much into working on the front-end and back-end (PHP, the like) of websites. So...I guess what I would like to get out of studying any IT unit at tertiary level is to learn the principles of programming so that I can improve my work efficiency. It'd be nice of what I learn can be practically applied later. So...do you have any tips on how I should go about selecting my units of study?

(INFO1103 Introduction to Programming and INFO1003 Foundations of Information Technology sound OK, though it's hard to discern if they're really suitable...INFO1003 sounds very broad...)

withoutaface

Premium Member
HSC
Do INFO1103 and whatever the second semester programming one is. They'll give a taste for software development, and those principles can be fairly broadly applied. Keep in mind however you're not going to learn how to programme from one unit.

jaimebien

HSC
Thanks withoutaface. I'm doing only one IT unit as I can only one one non-arts unit in the semester.