HSC
Hey guys i seem to be doing real poorly in standard english
what do u fink i should do

get a tutor?

i duno im not good with english i think its a difficult subject

tooheyz

- kmart supervisor -
HSC
yeah standard is pretty hard. i think the average at my skool is like 60% or something.

its really hard for english standard to get a band 6 or 5.

Winston

HSC
i mean sometimes i read the sample essays they dont even make sense and i count how many quotes and techniques they have and they dont have like heaps i seriously dont get english its all screwed

jessika

law chicky
HSC
maybe you should talk to your teacher about it (or maybe their the problem). But I found, that the most help I ever got was by talking to my friends, they could explain it in 'jess language', so I was like cool, I understand all that now. And that was the same for my friends, the ones that were in standard I could help out, because I understood there work, and I could relate it to stuff that they would understand.

Huy

HSC
N/A
Originally posted by ToOhEyZ
yeah standard is pretty hard. i think the average at my skool is like 60% or something.

its really hard for english standard to get a band 6 or 5.

hey,
at least it is not as bad in an all-boys college!
(we must have girls on our minds all day, everyday ;))

the average for the *ADVANCED* course was 62% during the preliminary year.

it is pretty hard to get a band 5/6 in adv eng, but it is not impossible :)

*whistles, cough*

anyway winston,
here's what you should try to do,
even if it doesn't make sense.

read a couple of essays,
have your teacher mark them,
see where you've gone wrong,

if that doesn't help, try scaffolding.

introduction,
body,
conclusion

in your body, select a text, develop ideas,
introduce techniques, quote, reiterate these techniques.

just ask yourself,
what are you trying to say,
how will you go about saying it,
when you want to say it,
after you've said it,
tie it all together,
re-state what you've said,