A question for the teachers here (1 Viewer)

jessdub96

HSC
I love education and I am so interested in the reasons behind why people choose to go into it. I am also hugely passionate and an advocate for public education but I am interested in the different reasons behind where teachers choose to teach.

So.. (if you are willing to answer)-

Why did you choose to become a teacher? Was it something you fell into or a realisation you made early on?
Are you happy and fulfilled in your career? Why? (What are the best and worst parts)
And, are you a public or independent/catholic school teacher and why is that? Have you always taught within the one sector, why/why not?

I would LOVE to hear your responses. I am so excited by the thought of teaching. Answer some, all or none of the questions..whatever you like- but I would so appreciate hearing what you have to say :)

Merry christmas all!

Carrotsticks

Retired
HSC
N/A
I'm currently studying to become a Mathematics teacher (and already on the path towards it with my current occupation).

I can provide my input if you like, though it of course may not be as valuable as that of a person who's been teaching for 20+ years.

jessdub96

HSC
I'm currently studying to become a Mathematics teacher (and already on the path towards it with my current occupation).

I can provide my input if you like, though it of course may not be as valuable as that of a person who's been teaching for 20+ years.
Oh I would love to hear!! It's all valuable and hugely interesting to me :)

Carrotsticks

Retired
HSC
N/A
I choose to teach for many reasons, including:

- I want to retire, look back, and be satisfied that I have made a good contribution to society.

- I believe in the power of 'getting in there early' and 'planting the seeds whilst the soil has been newly manured'.