Structure (1 Viewer)

bubonic

HSC
Hey!

WAYS OF THINKING: AFTER THE BOMB-

I'm an English Extension 1 student who has consistently been getting 23/25 for the essay portion of the course. I usually shape my paragraphs around context and tend to weave the text throughout the paragraph. I only use around one or 2 textual examples per text and have 2 critics per text. My essay has a total of 4 paragraphs- one for each paradigm and its linking text. I generally discuss context first then show how it is presented in the chosen text.

While this has been getting me good results, I have been seeing a lot of exemplar responses in which each paragraph is heavily text based and sometimes doesn't even have a topic sentence; just dives right into the text. The paragraphs are generally shaped like how an advanced essay would be (except a lot more analytical and sophisticated).

I am worried that my approach will cause me to achieve poor results. Any advice on whether or not to keep my own structure would be appreciated

Thank you! :)

Lumenoria

HSC
Hey there,
As an Extension 1 student undertaking the After the Bomb module aswell, I'm sure you're fine in that regard—in fact, that's the approach most people I know go with, including me!