Should I even bother with getting a career in IT/Computer Science? (1 Viewer)

pigas

HSC
I'm in year 11 this year and am considering in the future to maybe study something computer related like programming since I like web design and programming (however currently I am not very good at it, but still learning!)

The problem is I am horrible at maths (only subject I ever failed), plus I didn't even pick maths or any computer related subjects. Should I probably not consider computer related studies, since if I do try I will probably fail/not meet the qualifications? I don't know what to do. T_T Am I wasting my time even thinking about it?

Praxiis

HSC
I've copied much of this from my post in another thread:

Generally when speaking about computing degrees there's two options; Computer Science related degrees (Software/Hardware Engineering) and Information Technology related degrees. Now, Computer Science is a very maths and logic based degree and in your case would probably best be avoided. IT however, covers a broad range of skills that don't require any advanced mathematical ability - from Systems and Network Administration or Mobile Application Programming to Business Management/Marketing, Web Design/Development, Games Design/Production, Systems Design/Database management, and Video Editing/Sound Mixing/Animation.

In my opinion, IT is a great degree to get into because it provides you with a broad range of skills that make you employable in a broad variety of positions in various industries. The IT industry is only getting bigger and bigger with each passing year with new jobs being created in major corporations and new startups alike.

The best advice I can give you is don't let maths stop you from chasing your dream career. I'm in my second year of a Bachelor of Information Technology now and I dropped General Maths halfway through Year12 - it isn't for everyone, just don't let it discourage you :)

If you have any questions feel free to ask.

MrBrightside