Related Texts for After The Bomb (1 Viewer)

mkat

HSC
Hi,

I have a fifteen minute oral presentation on 'ways of thinking' and 'theoretical concepts in relation to 'After the Bomb'' due in a few weeks, and i need to incorporate at least one related text. At the moment I have none and I'm a bit concerned, although I was thinking that I could use Fahrenheit 451? I studied it in prelim advanced, and I'm fairly sure it's not a prescribed text (mine are Hiroshima, Waiting for Godot and The Spy Who Came in From the Cold).

Any advice/opinions would be really appreciated :)

strawberrye

Premium Member
HSC
Uni Grad
You need to make sure that whatever related text that you select, it has a strong conceptual connection to the paradigms of after the bomb, to your question and that you can make strong connections between your prescribed and related text. I think there are many other possible related text that might possibly work well including Kubrick's Dr Strangelove, Kurt Vonnegut's novels, Ray Bradbury's short stories, both the novel and film, 'on the beach' can also possibly work quite well...

My top tips for a brilliant oral presentation:)
1)make sure you have a consistent background or formatting-don't try to use different backgrounds for each slide and don't try to have different fonts for each slide-you can have variation on your transitions, but don't make it too diverse-otherwise people will get dizzy watching your presentation
2)make sure you have less text on the screen than you talk about in your speech-your screen should be an outline of your points-you are not supposed to put a speech transcript-but exceptions are when you put extract from philosopher-and you can talk about different parts of it in your speech