occupational therapy? (1 Viewer)

melon

does anyone do ot or know if its a good course - in terms of career prospects, good teachers/nice students, workload, etc.?
hows it going if youre doing the course atm?

Leap

free falling
HSC
Hey, I'm studying occupational therapy at the moment, and I do like it on the whole, but I'm sick of it at the moment because I have sooo many assignments due.

The good things about it are that it has really good career prospects, OTs are in demand at the moment, and there are heaps of opportunities to travel once you graduate and you can work in almost any country. Also, because its such a broad area, you can work in a variety of different settings doing heaps of different things.

I found it really easy to make friends doing OT, because the type of people who choose it are usually those who want to help people etc and thats good because there are LOADS of group assignments. During semester 1, I think I had about 1 or 2 assignments which weren't group, or pairs assignments and the rest were group. You also do a lot of group presentations and speeches. Group assignments can really suck sometimes, but it does mean the workload is split among the group members which kinda makes it easier. And yeah, it does help you to get to know heaps of people and make friends etc.

The teaching staff are alright...it depends on the subject I guess. It helps if you get good tutors. A few of the lecturers are a bit dull.

The bad things about it are the workload and the fact that you're at Cumberland Campus, where the social life isn't all that great.
The workload in first semester isn't too bad. It seemed bad at the time, but compared to this semester it was easy. We had a lot of speeches and presentations, and a practical viva as well.