International Business or Finance anyone? (1 Viewer)

ezzy85

hmm...yeah.....
HSC
N/A
Those of you who have done these, what are they like in terms of content, workload etc...? I want to change majors and have so far narrowed it down to these two. They both sound interesting. My second major is actuarial. Any advice would be appreciated.
Thanks

Harimau

You are not me, therefore you are irrelevant
HSC
Finance is boring. Actuarial is so much better... Until you get to the finals and realise how damn hard everything is.

Although, i am in first year, so i am relatively clueless about everything. I've been told that finance gets better and actuarial gets worse in second year, but ...

Minai

Alumni
HSC
Uni Grad
In a nutshell, International Business is interesting, and pretty easy, but isnt very practical..whereas finance is boring and relatively hard, but practical

(i do international business as a major

ezzy85

hmm...yeah.....
HSC
N/A
is it heavily focused on asian business or do you get to do stuff like south america and europe?

MuSaRuRWa

with an actuarial major, it'd make more sense to do finance ... they relate very much. u'll see if/when u do fins1613 and actl2001.

and harimau, yes ... wait till u get to actl 2nd yr :p

Minai

Alumni
HSC
Uni Grad
Originally posted by ezzy85
is it heavily focused on asian business or do you get to do stuff like south america and europe?
It's generally focused on Asia.
The elective courses include:
IBUS2103: Japanese Business
IBUS2104: Korean Business
IBUS2105: Chinese Business Enterprise

saa

i started with an actuarial/finance double major, but now have dropped actuarial down to a minor

finance is a lot easier than actuarial. and then within finance there's probably about 20 subjects to choose from.

just try and avoid henry yip's subjects ;) although fins2624 is compulsory.. his subjects just seem a bit harder than others I've done. Although I'm not a huge fan of him as a teacher, so maybe that's why

MuSaRuRWa