How to Get Better Conceptual Understanding in Subjects (1 Viewer)

Dominator.

HSC
Hello, I'm a Year 9 Student and am doing well in all my subjects (the ones that count in my GPA that is). Recently, I've been learning how to study effectively and feel like I've been learning the wrong way my whole life (although it is limited to only 14yrs). I believe that I need to understand the fundamentals of my concepts very thoroughly and find out why they are the way that they are. For example, for something as basic as y = mx + b, I tried to think of why the equation was presented in this particular way and in all honesty it just made me realise that a lot of my concepts have been memorised rather than properly learnt (partially at fault for my maths teacher who literally doesn't teach us).

As for the future, I've become aware that it is gonna be imperative that I learn in a way that will allow me to get a very thorough understanding on the concepts and fundamentals so that I can apply them by linking them together.

This leads me to my question: How do I do this?

I know it may sound dumb, but I'm genuinely stuck on how I should relearn all the fundamentals and genuinely understand them. Although, for maths I'm still learning at a very elementary level I feel like I need to drill in the conceptual understanding of certain topics to ensure that I do much better in the future.

This then leads me to my second question: Are there any particular resources that could assist me (at a year 9/10 level), for example, youtube channels that would help me to understand my subjects (not just limited to maths but also sciences) and find out why certain things are the way in which they are OR textbooks which provide a very comprehensive understanding on the fundamentals.