HELP: guaranteed pathway at Melbourne Law JD vs. Monash? (1 Viewer)

lovelive

HSC
I have an ATAR of 99.75, have gotten into arts/law at Monash, but also have a guaranteed pathway (full-fee paying place) to a Juris Doctor of Law at Melbourne Uni. If I take the second option, I would do a Bachelor of Arts first, planning to do a double major of international studies and Chinese language in my Arts Degree.
Would still be trying to attain a CSP place in the JD at Melbourne rather than paying full fee after my undergrad degree.

Trying to compare Melbourne and Monash Law programs, any advice in order for me to make my decision?

kidokkyo

HSC
Uni Grad
I think it's a genuine dilemma you've got there, and the decision you ultimately make will need to depend on what you personally want. I can't say I'm a law student myself, but I'm confident I can give you an informed opinion, especially since I've had personal contact with the inside of Melbourne's JD program. I have close friends who are Melbourne JD students, final cohort Melbourne LLB students, and I'm also acquainted with Monash LLB students. I'll try to make this as simple as possible.

Undergraduate (LLB) versus [Post]graduate (JD)
The Juris Doctor is a master's level degree, whereas the LLB is, of course, a bachelor's degree.