Geography extended response help!!!! (1 Viewer)

JSensation

HSC
Hello BoS, I'm Jason.

So like as a geography student, i'm kinda looking on some insight how to write a good geography essay/extended response. Basically like tips and tricks and like and geography advice. I'm currently a year 11 student doing preliminaries, so any help for year 11-12 would be helpful!! TIA love you BoS <3 <3 :spin::spin:

blackbird_14

HSC
A good extended responses has: good case studies that are comprehensive, good illustrative examples, and good structure.

Having one or two really detailed case studies that cover all the syllabus dot points is far better than having several to cover all of them, as that way you cut down on how many stats you need to memorise (more case studies=more stats in total cause they'll be all different), and it will sound like a more comprehensive answer. For example, in population geography, you could have one case study that has examples of environmental, economic and social impacts from changing size and distribution of population, which may arise from the factors explained in the previous dot point, that is, rural-urban migration, labour migration etc. In year 12 when you're doing urban places, it's quite handy to have one case study that can apply to both health, education and water challenges in mega cities, and one response that covers all three areas at once. Of course, finding these examples, if your teacher hasn't found one for you, will take time, and often info won't be readily available, but if you can, it's preferable. Having examples that can apply to multiple factors also allows for a better flow between paragraphs.