Bachelor of Commerce (1 Viewer)

crazylilmonkee

HSC
Hey!
Can anyone who studies this course, tell me what first year is like? I'm studying economics at school and i was wondering if i would be able to handle it.. apparently theres a lot of essay writing for the exams?
Thanks heaps

SoFTuaRiaL

in first yr, u do the following subjects
Accounting and financial manageent 1A & 1B
Microeconomics 1
Macroeconomics 1
Quantitative methods A & B (this will be replaced by maths for actuarial 1A & 1B if ure majoring in actuarials)
besides this, u take 2 other subjects depending on ur major ....

Minai

Alumni
HSC
Uni Grad
I do all those subjects,
theres zero essay writing basically for the core subjects (except one essay in the final exam of Macroeconomics)

For me personally, I find Accounting the most interesting and enjoyable subject, because I find the maths/statistics (QMA and QMB) boring, and the Economics subjects too tedious (it isn't like what you're used to in HSC Economics, believe me)

You really need to think about what majors you are interested in

crazylilmonkee

HSC
HEy Minai,
i guess im a lil confused with this whole uni thing at the moment.. i was thinking of marketing and psychology, if i could get into do the combined degree with science...
wat do u major in? or is it economics? silly me..

Minai

Alumni
HSC
Uni Grad
Originally posted by crazylilmonkee
HEy Minai,
i guess im a lil confused with this whole uni thing at the moment.. i was thinking of marketing and psychology, if i could get into do the combined degree with science...
wat do u major in? or is it economics? silly me..
If u do a combined Commerce/Science, then yes, doing Marketing as your Commerce major and Psych as your science major is possible.

I major both in Economics and International Business, but I plan to transfer and do Accounting and International Business, if I don't make it into Law

ezzy85

hmm...yeah.....
HSC
N/A