who does chinese heritage here? (1 Viewer)

HSC
Uni Grad
well answer the question :p
coz i need to know...
and once you ppl start the course, tell me what it's like and what you learn and such
coz family friends of mine want to do chinese but idk if heritage is good though...

muzeikchun852

HSC
i heard it's like learning chinese in china, although i dont really know how difficult is chinese in china. but my friend came from china in year 11 so he's quite reliable and he's doing the chinese background course.

vivaaviva

HSC
N/A
No, that is not true!! As a teacher, I can tell you Heritage is not as Chinese background speaker's course at all. Learning Chinese in China is for Background speakers. Heritage is more culturally based and it is a bi-lingual course, so english is used through heritage course too. Have a look at the syllabus on BOS's website.

vinvien

HSC
i think heritage is at the continuers level or slightly higher but definitely not as hard as background. im not too sure since i haven't taken a look at their syllabus.

heritage is for ABC students (or for those who did up to year 4 in China ) who has contact with the Chinese language and culture at home (Chinese as in cantonese, and other chinese dialects) I personally dont think tht cantonese, shanghainese and other dialects are similar to Mandarin, not everyone who speaks a dialect would know how to speak Mandarin so i don't know how those students are able to do heritage Chinese in terms of the reading and writing components. but then again, speaking and listening i guess heritage speakers have a better advantage than new beginners....

*shrugs*

Bendent

HSC
shanghainese (wu), cantonese and mandarin are way different. but the ming dynasty (han chinese dynasty) is centred around beijing and nanjing so im guessing languages back then were mandarin and wu?

HSC
Uni Grad