UTS BIT Co-op VS UNSW CS (1 Viewer)

SMH WinterBlues

HSC
Hello, I have been recently accepted into the BIT Co-op and have received an email of confirmation. I was wondering of any past students who can share their insights and experiences about the course and their experiences while taking their industry placements. This includes how useful the subjects are, the quality of teaching and whether you were offered a job at your industry placement.
I am intending to pursue cybersecurity in the future and have trouble determining whether UNSW CS or UTS BIT gives me the best opportunity. While UNSW offers Security Engineering as its major but no internships or work placements are offered. Also does prestigious universities (UNSW) offer any significance to employers. Which university offer me a better opportunity to pursue cybersecurity or is there any difference? I appreciate any information given and thank you for your time :)

rsgmelon

HSC
Heya, I am a third year BIT student that could probably share some thoughts. Overall, the BIT course is great. I don't know much regarding cyber security/security engineering as a major but there are some sponsoring companies that could most definitely offer a role in that field. It's also great that in BIT there's a small cohort you can be familiar with

You may want to consider the following things:
  • how academically challenged do I want to be?
  • what field/role do I want possibly want to land in? Is the role technical?
I guess whether something is 'academically challenging' is a bit subjective. But talking with students from UNSW, subjects across all departments in general do seem more rigorous. Taking CS at UNSW will definitely provide you with a strong technical foundation.

BIT on the other hand will provide you the opportunities to learn and practice those skills/knowledge through your placements.