?? Is it hard to get atar over 85 ?? (1 Viewer)

biologysucks

HSC
Hi, I'm an international student whos currently in year 12 and is going to take the first HSC exams after 15 days...

Long story short, I was just wondering if it is difficult to get an atar over 85 if you do well in school work but mess up HSC.

I am a person who is strong with assessments but weak at tests (especially HSC format). Since I knew that, I've been trying hard from year 10 to get good school ranks until year 12 and apply for early entry. It was the middle of this year when I found out that I can't apply for early entry since I'm an international. So what I did was to apply through my atar, which is giving me huge stress since I was definitely not ready.

It's been a hard year for me, not just covid, but I had a few losses that impacted me both mentally and physically. Staying in Australia for nearly 3 years by myself plus whatever happened to me was more than enough to impact my academic performance from the beginning of this year (year 12). Somehow I managed to perform well for my assessments so my ranks were good until trial HSC. But the overall study, it's completely messed up. I feel like I have to do all yr 12 subjects from zero since I missed huge content due to some shitty stuff happened to me.

I failed trial HSC, by saying of fail I'm talking about below 50. I have 5 subjects, E/ALD(English for internationals), Math ext1, Math ext2, Physics, and Chemistry. I don't have a tutor nor external help. Basically failed all subjects (legit 40 percent) except for English(60) and Math ext1(75).. Thankfully, my ranks are still pretty high due to my assessment marks.. BUT I am definitely not prepared for actual HSC. (I tried Ext 1 math paper and I was stuck on question 1 fr)