How difficult would a 89+ ATAR be given my meh start to year 12? (1 Viewer)

ryansboredofstudies

HSC
My start to year 12 hasn’t been horrible by any means. I’ve gotten some pretty good marks and one or two bad ones to start.

I’m currently doing Maths Standard, English Advanced, CAFS, SAC and Music 1 (10 units all together.
Last term for my first assessments I got:
English Advanced I got a B
Music 1 a C
Maths not sure yet but I’m pretty sure a B
Society and Culture an A
CAFS a B

The reason I’m giving all this information is that I’m aiming for an atar of 89+. I’m not sure what I want to put my studies towards to at the end of school, which is why I want to have a decent atar score to allow me to broaden my options and opportunities. Not in a cocky way, I’m a pretty good student. I listen in class and do most of my homework and assessments on time as well as contribute to a few discussions during certain subjects. I have a problem with studying tho, as I’ve always lacked the motivation to do it, which is probably why I’ve recently only achieved A- and Bs and Cs.

I’m just concerned that my marks for Term 1 aren’t up to scratch. I’m not sure how difficult it is to get a 90+ ATAR and was wondering if you guyscould give any help/pointers/tips to better my studies and give me an outline of how you managed to get YOUR atar. Thanks! (Also wondering what kind of marks you got throughout the year that may have had an impact on ur overall ATAR. )

jimmysmith560

Le Phénix Trilingue
HSC
Uni Grad
Yep, ranks, as mentioned by @Directrix, do play a significant role. Back in year 12 I averaged only 70 for my internals in maths. However, my rank (30/140 ish) pushed my assessment mark to 83.

Last edited:

idkkdi

HSC
My start to year 12 hasn’t been horrible by any means. I’ve gotten some pretty good marks and one or two bad ones to start.

I’m currently doing Maths Standard, English Advanced, CAFS, SAC and Music 1 (10 units all together.
Music 1 a C
Society and Culture an A