Computer Science undergrand in NSW -- UNSW or USYD? (1 Viewer)

xetamine

HSC
I'm in Year 12 and trying to decide how to preference unis. I'm interested in doing computer science (not IT), and I'm primarily considering between UNSW and USYD. I am aware that UNSW vs USYD has been debated ad-infinitum, but I'd like a comp sci focused perspective.

How is the quality of education? The attitudes / "culture" of people who go there? I'd gladly appreciate any comments :)

Just some personal info: I'm a self taught programmer; been coding since I was 13. I have strong programming fundamentals but less mathematics. I'm looking to get a few years of work experience, and then found startups which would involve pitching to investors / overseas angels and VCs.

Last edited:

Shadowdude

Cult of Personality
HSC
UNSW

The COMP1917 - your first computing course - lecturer, if you get Richard Buckland, he's apparently awesome.

In fact, all the lecturers and the general teaching in computing I've been super happy with. Considering just over a year ago I'd never touched programming, I feel... less incompetent now :)

so again UNSW wins (as usual)

GoldyOrNugget

Señor Member
HSC
UTS is the best uni For Comp Sci in Australia
This is misleading at best and incorrect at worst.

UNSW, USyd and ANU are all FAR better than UTS at computer science. Ask any student, or look at the ATAR cutoffs, or which companies the graduates of each university go to. They are equally ranked in the "101-150" category in the 2014 academic world rankings for CS, and they all have a score of 0.0.

brent012

Webmaster
Webmaster
HSC
This is misleading at best and incorrect at worst.

UNSW, USyd and ANU are all FAR better than UTS at computer science.
Well, actually, UTS hasn't offered Comp Sci for over 10 years. I think rankings must be based on the IT courses, but if you are cross shopping Comp Sci degrees that is not the course for you.