Att: 2006. King Lear introduction by Mercedes (1 Viewer)

l-mercedes-l

Has left the building :D
Thanks to everyone who went out of their way to he
HSC
These are the notes i came up with for King Lear before the trial. I've added a few lines but these are the things the I wish someone had told me before I started studying this module. So this is my offering to you. It's very simplified so that it makes sense if you haven't started studying this module yet its probably still woth reading to get you thinking in a certain direction. I hope it dosen't sound like im insulting your intelligence as your all clearly intelligent people to be taking this course, but i like to think of it as a lead in, something that i wish I'd had. *Sorry in advance for any spelling errors, i wrote this a fair while ago*

RUBRIC said:
Critical Study of Texts
This module requires students to explore and evaluate a specific text and its reception in a
range of contexts. It develops students’ understanding of questions of textual integrity.
(Reread English Stage 6 Syllabus, p 52.)
Students choose one text from one of the listed types of text.
Shakespeare
Students who choose the Shakespeare play explore its literary qualities and the ways in
which different readings are possible and imply different values that may be realised
through different productions.
• Shakespeare, William, The Tragedy of King Lear, Cambridge University Press, New
Cambridge Shakespeare, 1992, ISBN 0521337291

To start at the start, King Lear is a play. Which means it is open to the interpretation of its audience, director and players. There is no finite meaning, unless we consider the specific context of its inception.

**Brief Overview** [This is oversimplified out of all meaning… but a starting point]