Applying to Year 11, what are my chances? (1 Viewer)

kat1324

HSC
Planning to apply for Year 11 2022 for Caringbah High School, currently in Year 10 now.
I got 4 As, all in core (Eng, Math, Science, History) Including an A10 in Maths (which only like 5 kids out of my 200 kid cohort get), then Bs in PDH, PASS, multimedia and Religion.
I got a lot of extra curricular (Soccer, swimming, cross country, debating, duke of ed).
This is my first time applying for a selective school so I have no gauge of my chances, I'm not the most sweatiest academic sweat and I'm only starting to prepare now when the test is 7th of August.
What can I do to prepare? I really can't afford to cash out on the ACER $50 preparation packs as I already had to pay $100 for the selection testing.

jimmysmith560

Le Phénix Trilingue
HSC
Uni Grad
You definitely have a chance as your current academic performance is of good standards and you have participated in several extracurricular activities.

You should definitely revise all the content you've learned this year in preparation for your HAST, particularly maths and English as the areas that are tested in the HAST are reading comprehension, mathematical and scientific reasoning, abstract reasoning and written expression, meaning it won't be an easy test. Your revision should consist of completing practise questions for maths to ensure you're familiar and comfortable with all the concepts you've learned this year. For English, you should complete reading comprehension questions and ensure you're familiar with the literary and visual techniques you've learned this year. Doing so will allow you to become more comfortable with reading texts and extracting relevant information, allowing you to write high-quality responses.

I hope this helps! :D

kat1324

HSC
You definitely have a chance as your current academic performance is of good standards and you have participated in several extracurricular activities.